Challenges

I never thought of myself as someone who was really that into challenges, I like a good challenge, don’t get me wrong but I didn’t think I was a seeker of challenge.

The day my son was born, 5 weeks prematurely, not breathing and therefore hooked up to a heart monitor that screeched insistently for six months was a challenge no doubt.  But certainly something I managed.  Then when my husband walked out when my son was 5 months old and never came back, that was pretty much a challenge.  When I finally picked my jaw up off the ground six months later I got it together and made it through.  When I moved to NYC by myself with no friends or family anywhere near with a one year old I was definitely signing up for challenge.  However, so far in life, whether I knew it or not, nothing compared to the phone call I got two weeks after my sons second birthday informing me that he had autism and was functioning at the level of a five month old or lower.  Okay, so that one, pretty big challenge, I often wondered if I could even rise to that challenge, but I did and still do every day and I’m delightfully happy about my son and my life, despite these challenges.  Moved back to Texas years later and watched my 6 year old sons hair turn gray as he received no services in Texas public schools…quickly returned to NYC, challenging.  Not able to find work for months and months and months, challenging…I thought I really had a grip on challenge until three weeks ago when as a single mother of an autistic child in NYC, I fell off my shoe and broke my foot!  CHALLENGE!  I can’t even tell some crazy cool story about how I broke my foot, 45 years of life no broken bones and I fall off my shoe, I think I change the word at this point to challenged.  And I thought getting out of the house with my underwear on everyday was something…now I have to get around the walking city with a cast on my foot!  Ummm, okay.  Now I’m tooling around almost as fast as I was three weeks ago, yet, another challenge down.

Now, in this moment I face my toughest challenge to date…blogging.  This is absolutely the coolest thing I’ve ever tried to do and no doubt the most mind bending.  I look at other blogs and pages and I’m mesmerized by the buttons and pictures and boxes and likes and tags and on and on…I’m a product of the 80’s, still longing for my 8-track player, just getting used to cassette tapes and can’t even begin to wrap my mind around anything with initials MP what?  So, wish me luck as I take on my latest challenge and help me if you can along the way!!!!!

About artofautism45

I'm the single mom of a child on the autism spectrum. My entire life is about advocating for him and making his life everything it can be. In my spare time, well, I take care of his adorable spaniel named Kirby and try to work a bit, I'm a voice improvement coach and theatre director by trade.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

